Makeup Artists & Hairstylists Invited to AMPAS Membership


The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is extending invitations to join the organization to 397 artists and executives who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures.

Membership selection is based on professional qualifications, with an ongoing commitment to representation, inclusion and equity remaining a priority. The 2022 class is 44% women, 37% belong to underrepresented ethnic/racial communities, and 50% are from 53 countries and territories outside the United States. There are 71 Oscar® nominees, including 15 winners, among the invitees.

Four individuals (noted by an asterisk) have been invited to join the Academy by multiple branches. These individuals must select one branch upon accepting membership.

Those who accept the invitations will be the only additions to the Academy’s membership in 2022.

Makeup Artists and Hairstylists:
*Jacenda Burkett – “King Richard,” “Concussion”
*Nana Fischer – “Encounter,” “The Lost City of Z”
*Sean Flanigan – “The Many Saints of Newark,” “The Irishman”
*Massimo Gattabrusi – “Loving Pablo,” “Volver”
*Stephanie Ingram – “The Eyes of Tammy Faye,” “It”
*Anna Carin Lock – “House of Gucci,” “Borg/McEnroe”
*Heike Merker – “The Matrix Resurrections,” “Anonymous”
*Stacey Morris – “Coming 2 America,” “Dolemite Is My Name”
*Justin Raleigh – “The Eyes of Tammy Faye,” “Army of the Dead”
*Kerrie Smith – “Motherless Brooklyn,” “John Wick”
*Nadia Stacey – “Cruella,” “The Favourite”
*Julia Vernon – “Cruella,” “Maleficent”
*Wakana Yoshihara – “Belfast,” “Spencer”