2017 MUAHS Awards

The 2017 Make-Up Artists & Hair Stylists (MUAHS)Guild Awards were held February 19 at The Novo by Microsoft at L.A. Live. The audience of more than 700 included Guild members, industry executives and press. Sue Cabral-Ebert, President, and Tommy Cole, Business Representative, presided over the awards ceremony with comedian Loni Love (The Real) serving as host for the second year in a row.

Winners were announced in 23 categories of film, television, commercials and live theater. Winners in the film categories included La La Land, Nocturnal Animals, Suicide Squad, Hail, Caesar! and Star Trek Beyond. Television winners included Westworld, Dancing With the Stars, Game of Thrones, The Rocky Horror Picture Show and The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story.

Ryan Murphy, four-time Emmy® award-winning producer, received the Distinguished Artisan Award, presented by Darren Criss (Glee). Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented to Emmy-nominated make-up artist Leonard Engelman and Oscar®- and Emmy-nominated hair stylist Barbara Lorenz (La La Land). Engelman’s longtime client Cher could not attend the show, but prepared a video tribute in honor of the Lifetime Achievement honoree. Former Motion Picture Ats and Sciences Academy President Hawk Koch presented the award to Engelman.

Other presenters for this year’s awards included Oscar-winning make-up artist and 2015 MUAHS Guild Lifetime Achievement recipient Rick Baker, Charlotte Ross (Arrow), Violett Beane (The Flash), Chelsea Kane and Melissa Peterman (Baby Daddy), Logan Browning (Netflix’s Dear White People), Meg Donnelly (American Housewife), Kate Linder (The Young and the Restless), Bill Brochtrup (Criminal Minds), Mark D. Espinoza (The Bold and the Beautiful), Mara Hall (Grey’s Anatomy) and Riley Schmidt (Scream Queens).